Select or change your region

No region selected

Confined Space Entry - Online Theory + Half Day Practical

Nationally recognised units of competency
RIIWHS202E, MSMPER200, MSMPER205, MSMPER202

Blended

Allows workers to perform basic risk assessments and enter a confined space to conduct work under an issued permit. Online + hands on practical.

HALF DAY PRACTICAL
suitable for new and experienced workers
Scroll down and book your practical day
CSQ FUNDING

Construction Skills Queensland offers funding for eligible candidates.

Course Dates

Location (SE QLD) Start Date Places Left
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Jan 27, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Feb 01, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Feb 02, 2022 (12:00pm)
3 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Feb 04, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Sat, Feb 05, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Feb 09, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Feb 10, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Feb 11, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Feb 16, 2022 (12:00pm)
3 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Feb 17, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Feb 18, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Sat, Feb 19, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Feb 22, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Feb 23, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Feb 24, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Feb 25, 2022 (12:00pm)
4 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Mar 01, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Mar 02, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Mar 03, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Mar 04, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Sat, Mar 05, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Mar 09, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Mar 10, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Mar 11, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Mar 15, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Mar 16, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Mar 17, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Mar 18, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Sat, Mar 19, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Mar 22, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Mar 23, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Mar 24, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Mar 25, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Mar 30, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Mar 31, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Apr 01, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Sat, Apr 02, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Apr 05, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Apr 06, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Apr 07, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Apr 08, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Apr 12, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Apr 13, 2022 (12:00pm)
4 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Apr 14, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Wed, Apr 20, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Apr 22, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Fri, Apr 22, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Apr 26, 2022 (12:00pm)
Sold Out
Add Me To Waitlist
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Apr 28, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Apr 29, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Wed, May 04, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, May 06, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Fri, May 06, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, May 10, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, May 11, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, May 12, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, May 13, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, May 17, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, May 18, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, May 19, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, May 20, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, May 24, 2022 (12:00pm)
Sold Out
Add Me To Waitlist
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, May 25, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, May 27, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, May 31, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jun 01, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Jun 02, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jun 03, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Jun 07, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jun 08, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Jun 09, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jun 10, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Jun 14, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jun 15, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Jun 16, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jun 17, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Jun 21, 2022 (12:00pm)
Sold Out
Add Me To Waitlist
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jun 22, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Jun 23, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jun 24, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Jun 28, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jun 29, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Jun 30, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jul 01, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Jul 05, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jul 06, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Jul 07, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jul 08, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Jul 12, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jul 13, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Jul 14, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jul 15, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Tue, Jul 19, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jul 20, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Gold Coast - Helensvale Thu, Jul 21, 2022 (12:00pm)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jul 22, 2022 (12:00pm)
2 Places Left
Book Now

Course Details

Certification

Students who are deemed competent will receive a Statement of Attainment recognised under the Australian Qualifications Framework. This certification is nationally recognised. The Statement is issued by Pinnacle Safety and Training (RTO 40496).

National units of competency

  • RIIWHS202E - Enter and work in confined spaces
  • MSMPER205 - Enter confined space
  • MSMPER200 - Work in accordance with an issued permit
  • MSMPER202 - Observe permit work

Course Duration

Our Confined Space Entry course is comprised of two components:

  1. Online learning and assessment (we estimate learners new to this content may take 3-4 hours - online)
  2. Hands on practical training and assessment (approximately 4 hours - at Pinnacle training centre)

Price

Course Overview

Note: This is our basic course which gives you the skills to review a risk assessment, enter a confined space in accordance with an issued permit to conduct work, and act as a standby person. For more advanced confined space training (including gas testing, issuing permits, use of breathing apparatus) or for training that covers planning and supervision of confined space operations, see our Confined Space 2 day course. This advanced training is required for anyone who may be required to control the works in the space via permit issuing, operate gas detectors, or otherwise supervise confined space operations.


This nationally recognised training course is designed for people who work in or around confined spaces. The course can be tailored to suit the practical scenarios relevant to your company’s confined space operations. While there is a standard set of learning outcomes for the course, we understand that the context and environment in which the learning is applied is varied. It is designed to teach participants how to:

  • Identify confined space hazards
  • Work safely within confined spaces according to an issued permit
  • Operate various confined space safety equipment.

What is a confined space?

According to the Safe Work Australia Code of Practice, a “confined space” means an enclosed or partially enclosed space that:

  • is not designed or intended primarily to be occupied by a person; and
  • is, or is designed or intended to be, at normal atmospheric pressure while any person is in the space; and
  • is or is likely to be a risk to health and safety from:
    • an atmosphere that does not have a safe oxygen level, or
    • contaminants, including airborne gases, vapours and dusts, that may cause injury from fire or explosion, or
    • harmful concentrations of any airborne contaminants, or
    • engulfment.

Examples of confined spaces include (but are not limited to):

  • Storage tanks
  • Tank cars
  • Process vessels
  • Pressure vessels
  • Boilers
  • Silos and other tank-like compartments
  • Pits and degreasers
  • Pipes
  • Sewers
  • Sewer pump stations including wet and dry wells, shafts and ducts
  • Shipboard spaces entered through small hatchways or access points, cargo tanks, cellular double bottom tanks, duct keels, ballast or oil tanks and void spaces

This course is recommended for:

  • Workers who will be performing confined space work, but are not required to write a permit, monitor gas levels, wear breathing apparatus
  • Electrical engineers
  • Safety inspectors
  • Safety personnel
  • Injury prevention personnel
  • Maintenance personnel
  • Emergency services personnel (fire, ambulance, police)
  • WHS/OHS officers
  • Risk managers
  • Mine managers
  • Telecommunications and cable installation personnel
  • Lift operators and installers
  • Transport industry workers

Course Outline

  • Identifying confined spaces
  • Identification and control of hazards
  • Australian Standards and relevant legislation
  • Roles and responsibilities of management and employees
  • Case studies
  • Risk assessments and hierarchy of hazard controls
  • Work according to a confined space permit
  • Work site policy and procedures
  • Write work plans and risk assessments
  • Lockout and tag out methods of isolation
  • Atmospheric monitoring and gas detection
  • Fall protection equipment
  • Practical entry into a confined space
  • Safety and emergency procedures
  • Confined space refresher training is recommended every 12-24 months under Australian Standard AS2865-2009.

Course Inclusions

Online Learning:

  • Access to our online learning platform with interactive learning module built and tested by industry experts
  • Access to a dedicated Online Faculty at Pinnacle to assist you with your online learning, if you need it
  • The freedom to study when you like and go at your own pace.

Hands On Practical Component:

  • Practical training conducted by experienced confined space specialist
  • Half day (approx. 4 hours) of hands-on, practical training. Up to 12 trainees per course.
  • Recommendations and advice for specialised PPE and equipment for your particular workplace
  • Advice on risk control methods for the type of work to be undertaken
  • Scenario-driven learning to ensure workers can be safe and comply with relevant standards and legislation

Each Trainee Must Provide

Participants must

  • Have completed the pre-course online learning and assessments prior to attending the scheduled face-to-face training
  • Be at least 15 years of age
  • Have at least a Year 10 level of numeracy, literacy and communication skills
  • Have the ability to read and write English
  • Provide their own transport and lunch
  • Arrive in suitable attire, including long pants and closed-in shoes.

Equipment requirements

  • We can supply all equipment necessary for you to undertake the practical training.
  • We actively encourage you to bring along your own equipment.

Online learning requirements

  • Use a device that meets the minimum System Requirements of Pinnacle’s e-Learning system (we officially support and recommend modern desktop or laptop computers running Google Chrome web browser). Other personal devices (e.g. phones and tablets) may be compatible, but due to the variety available, we do not officially support these devices.
  • Have a stable internet connection.
  • Use a device that can play sound.

Kevin was a great instructor and has ensured that if further instruction is required Pinnacle is the only place I will go.

Michael T. - Forest Lake, QLD

Australian Defence Force Vertical Rescue and Confined Space Rescue