No region selected

Confined Space Entry - 1 day

Nationally recognised units of competency
RIIWHS202E - Enter and work in confined spaces
MSMPER205 - Enter confined space
MSMPER200 - Work in accordance with an issued permit

Face to Face

Allows workers to perform basic risk assessments and enter a confined space to conduct work under an issued permit. 100% face-to-face training.

option 1: face-to-face (1 day)
complete theory and practical with your trainer
Scroll down and select your date
option 2: ONLINE THEORY + HALF DAY PRACTICAL
complete your theory component online before the face-to-face practical
View online theory option here
2 day course
gas testing, permit issuer
View 2 day course!

Course Dates

Location (Brisbane) Start Date Places Left
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, May 27, 2024 (7:30am)
Running Today
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, May 29, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, May 30, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, May 31, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Jun 03, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jun 05, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Jun 06, 2024 (7:30am)
Sold Out
Add Me To Waitlist
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jun 07, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Jun 10, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jun 12, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Jun 13, 2024 (7:30am)
Sold Out
Add Me To Waitlist
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jun 14, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Jun 17, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jun 19, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jun 21, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Jun 24, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jun 26, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Jun 27, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jun 28, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Jul 01, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jul 03, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Jul 04, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jul 05, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Jul 08, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jul 10, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Jul 11, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jul 12, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Jul 15, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jul 17, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Jul 18, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jul 19, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Jul 22, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jul 24, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Jul 25, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Jul 26, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Jul 29, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Jul 31, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Aug 01, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Aug 02, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Aug 05, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Aug 07, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Aug 08, 2024 (7:30am)
1 Place Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Aug 09, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Aug 12, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Aug 16, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Aug 19, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Aug 21, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Aug 22, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Aug 23, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Aug 26, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Aug 28, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Aug 29, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Aug 30, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Sep 02, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Sep 04, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Sep 05, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Sep 06, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Sep 09, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Sep 11, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Sep 12, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Sep 13, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Sep 16, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Sep 18, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Sep 19, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Sep 20, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Sep 23, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Sep 25, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Sep 26, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Sep 27, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Sep 30, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Oct 02, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Oct 03, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Oct 04, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Tue, Oct 08, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Oct 11, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Oct 14, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Oct 16, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Oct 17, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Oct 18, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Oct 21, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Oct 23, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Oct 24, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Oct 25, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Oct 28, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Oct 30, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Oct 31, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Nov 01, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Nov 04, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Nov 06, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Nov 07, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Nov 08, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Nov 11, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Nov 13, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Nov 14, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Nov 15, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Nov 18, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Wed, Nov 20, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Thu, Nov 21, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Fri, Nov 22, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Brisbane - Murarrie Mon, Nov 25, 2024 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now

Course Details

Certification

Students who are deemed competent will receive a Statement of Attainment recognised under the Australian Qualifications Framework. This certification is nationally recognised. The Statement is issued by Pinnacle Safety and Training (RTO 40496).

National units of competency

  • RIIWHS202E - Enter and work in confined spaces
  • MSMPER205 - Enter confined space
  • MSMPER200 - Work in accordance with an issued permit

Course Details

Course duration: 1 day (approximately 8 hours)

Up to 12 trainees per course

Price

  • $239.00 pp for public courses. Book online and save $10.00! (scroll up, find your date, and click Book Now)
  • For group bookings outside our public course schedule or at your location, please submit your group booking enquiry here for an obligation free quote.

Course Overview

This is our basic course which gives you the skills to review a risk assessment, enter a confined space in accordance with an issued permit to conduct work, and conduct gas testing.

Note: For more advanced confined space training (including gas testing and issuing permits) or for training that covers planning and supervision of confined space operations, see our Confined Space 2 day course. This advanced training is required for anyone who may be required to control the works in the space via permit issuing, operating gas detectors or otherwise supervising confined space operations.


This nationally recognised training course is designed for people who work in or around confined spaces. The course can be tailored to suit the practical scenarios relevant to your company’s confined space operations. While there is a standard set of learning outcomes for the course, we understand that the context and environment in which the learning is applied is varied. It is designed to teach participants how to:

  • Identify confined space hazards
  • Work safely within confined spaces according to an issued permit
  • Operate various confined space safety equipment

What is a Confined Space?

According to the Safe Work Australia Code of Practice, a “confined space” means an enclosed or partially enclosed space that:

  • is not designed or intended primarily to be occupied by a person; and
  • is, or is designed or intended to be, at normal atmospheric pressure while any person is in the space; and
  • is or is likely to be a risk to health and safety from:
    • an atmosphere that does not have a safe oxygen level, or
    • contaminants, including airborne gases, vapours and dusts, that may cause injury from fire or explosion, or
    • harmful concentrations of any airborne contaminants, or
    • engulfment.

Examples of confined spaces include (but are not limited to):

  • Storage tanks
  • Tank cars
  • Process vessels
  • Pressure vessels
  • Boilers
  • Silos and other tank-like compartments
  • Pits and degreasers
  • Pipes
  • Sewers
  • Sewer pump stations including wet and dry wells, shafts and ducts
  • Shipboard spaces entered through small hatchways or access points, cargo tanks, cellular double bottom tanks, duct keels, ballast or oil tanks and void spaces

This course is recommended for:

  • Workers who will be performing confined space work, but are not required to issue a permit, conduct gas testing, or wear breathing apparatus
  • Electrical engineers
  • Safety inspectors
  • Safety personnel
  • Injury prevention personnel
  • Maintenance personnel
  • Emergency services personnel (fire, ambulance, police)
  • WHS officers
  • Risk managers
  • Mine managers
  • Telecommunications and cable installation personnel
  • Transport industry workers
  • Lift operators and installers

Course Outline

  • Identifying confined spaces
  • WHS legislation, codes of practice and Australian Standards
  • Roles and responsibilities
  • Identification of hazards
  • Risk assessment
  • Hierarchy of controls
  • Work site policy and procedures
  • Completing confined space permit applications
  • Working according to a confined space permit
  • Isolation procedures
  • Atmospheric monitoring
  • Fall protection equipment
  • Safety and emergency procedures
  • Entry and exit procedures
  • Practical entry into a range of confined spaces

Currency

Australian Standard AS2865 recommends refreshing confined space training every 12-24 months.

Course Inclusions

  • 8 hours of face-to-face training conducted by an experienced confined space specialist
  • Hands-on practical training designed to develop safe work practices
  • Knowledge of relevant legislation, codes of practice and Australian Standards relevant to confined spaces
  • Recommendations and advice for specialised PPE and equipment for your workplace
  • Advice on risk control methods for the type of work to be undertaken

Participant Requirements

Participants must

  • Be at least 15 years of age
  • Wear appropriate clothing, including long pants and closed in footwear
  • Have at least a Year 10 level of numeracy, literacy and communication skills
  • Have the ability to read and write English

For our public courses at our purpose built training facility trainees must provide:

  • Transport
  • Lunch

Equipment:

  • We supply all equipment necessary for you to undertake this training, however we actively encourage you to bring along your own equipment.

Brett was very knowledgeable and his wealth of experience in the industry was obvious. I have completed many confined space courses over the years and this was by far the best in terms of delivery of the content and the equipment that was used. I will be training with Pinnacle in the future.

Ben S. - Gold Coast, QLD

Public Course Participant
Related Articles
One powerful yet often overlooked incentive is the Small Business Skills and Training Boost, which offers a generous 20% bonus tax deduction…Read more
In response to the coronavirus pandemic, Pinnacle Safety and Training is working around the clock to provide more online learning…Read more
Once again, Pinnacle Safety and Training was delighted to see strong satisfaction results from our graduates surveyed by the National Centre…Read more

Great trainer for the course, Lester did a great job of keeping me involved and interested which would not have been easy as I have done this course twice before. I came out of the course with a greater knowledge and understanding of what a confined space ticket allows me to do/not to do. I have been in my industry for over 10 years, so to say I learnt something new about something I do every day is great and I put that down to Lester’s training methods.

Joel M. - Brisbane, QLD

Kleenduct Australia

I found Kerryn to be an excellent trainer and presenter who was able to share her industry experience well. The fact that she regularly provides Confined Spaces services to industry reflects well.

Les D. - Melbourne, VIC

Alcoa Fastening Systems & Rings