Select or change your region

No region selected

Elevating Work Platform (EWP) Under 11m

Nationally recognised units of competency
RIIHAN301D

Face to Face

Trains participants in the use of scissor lifts and boom-type EWPs under 11m. Equivalent to ‘Yellow Card’ training.

BOOK ONLINE
book yourself in - $289.00
Scroll down for dates & book now
BOOK OVER THE PHONE
call us now on
1300 990 810

Course Dates

Location (NSW) Start Date Places Left
Sydney - Silverwater Tue, Feb 19, 2019 (7:30am)
Sold Out
Add Me To Waitlist
Sydney - Silverwater Wed, Feb 20, 2019 (7:30am)
2 Places Left
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Feb 23, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Tue, Feb 26, 2019 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Thu, Feb 28, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Mar 02, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Mon, Mar 04, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Thu, Mar 07, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Mar 09, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Tue, Mar 12, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Thu, Mar 14, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Mar 16, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Tue, Mar 19, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Wed, Mar 20, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Mar 23, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Wed, Mar 27, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Mar 30, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Tue, Apr 02, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Wed, Apr 03, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Apr 06, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Thu, Apr 11, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Apr 13, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Tue, Apr 16, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Thu, Apr 18, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Tue, Apr 23, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Fri, Apr 26, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Mon, Apr 29, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Wed, May 01, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, May 04, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Tue, May 07, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, May 11, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Tue, May 14, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Thu, May 16, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, May 18, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Wed, May 22, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, May 25, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Tue, May 28, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Thu, May 30, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Jun 01, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Wed, Jun 05, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Jun 08, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Tue, Jun 11, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Fri, Jun 14, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Jun 15, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Wed, Jun 19, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Jun 22, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Tue, Jun 25, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Thu, Jun 27, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now
Sydney - Silverwater Sat, Jun 29, 2019 (7:30am)
Places Available
Book Now

Course Details

Certification

National unit of competency

  • RIIHAN301D - Operate Elevating Work Platform

Please note that this is the nationally recognised unit of competency. It is recognised and accepted throughout Australia. Please be aware that “Yellow Cards” are issued by an industry body outside of the VET system. You do not require a Yellow Card to operate an EWP or scissor lift. This is a common misconception.

Course Duration

1 day (allow approximately 8 hours)

Price

  • $299.00 pp for public courses. Book online and save $10.00! (scroll up, find your date, and click Book Now)
  • For group or company bookings, please contact us for an obligation free quote.

Course Overview

This course is designed to give participants the knowledge and skills to operate elevating work platforms which are not classified as requiring a high risk work (HRW) licence. If you need to operate boom lifts that have a capacity beyond 11m, please see our EWP over 11m course.

After successfully completing this nationally-recognised course you will be trained and competent to operate:

  • EWP (Boom Lift) under 11m
  • Scissor Lift (up to any height)
  • Vertical Lift*

*The unit RIIHAN301D covers the operation of a range of elevating work platforms under 11m. Our course will provide participants with skills and knowledge to operate elevating work platforms that are transferable to any EWP under 11m. The specific plant used in our training courses are boom lift (BL) and scissor lift (SL). All Australian work sites have an obligation to induct new workers on the plant they are required to use. However, we do recommend that workers check with their employer(s) as to the applicability of any training related to on-site plant and equipment, as well as any site-specific training requirements.

Competent students will receive a card detailing the unit of competency and the class of machines they were trained and assessed in (at this time, boom [BL] and scissor [SL]).

For on-site training (group courses) we can contextualise the training to the specific plant being used on site and identify this on the card issued to competent students.

Course Outline

  • Access, interpret and apply elevating work platforms documentation and ensure the work activity is compliant
  • Obtain, read, interpret, clarify and confirm work requirements
  • Select and wear personal protective equipment appropriate for work activities
  • Identify and select any required tools and equipment, check for serviceability and rectify or report, verbally or in writing, any faults prior to commencement
  • Perform pre-start and post-start inspections/checks
  • Coordinate activities with others prior to commencement of, and during, the work activity
  • Identify and address potential risks, hazards and environmental issues, and implement control measures
  • Obtain and interpret emergency procedures, and be prepared for fire/accident/emergency
  • Stabilise elevating work platform
  • Place tools and equipment into bucket/platform
  • Use approved safety devices, ensure safety of personnel and surrounding site
  • Act on or report, verbally or in writing, monitoring systems and alarms
  • Recognise and respond to hazardous and emergency situations
  • Complete work and shut-down in accordance with agreed work plan
  • Carry out work platform inspections and fault finding
  • Carry out routine operational servicing, lubrication and housekeeping tasks in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions and site authorised procedures and practices
  • Carry out minor operator maintenance to manufacturer’s instructions and site requirements
  • Process written records
  • Clear work area and reuse, recycle or dispose of materials
  • Check, clean, maintain and store plant, tools and equipment

Course Inclusions

  • Training conducted by an experienced height safety specialist
  • Knowledge on relevant legislation and Australian Standards for elevating work platforms and working at height
  • Advice on risk control methods for the type of work at height to be undertaken
  • Practical hands-on EWP training to ensure participants can safely and competently operate EWPs

To successfully complete this certification, participants must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Have at least a Year 10 level of numeracy, literacy and communication skills
  • Have the ability to read and write English
  • Arrive in suitable attire: Safety boots, long pants and high-vis shirt.

This was the best short-course I have completed during my 11 years in the construction industry.

James S. - Melbourne, VIC

S&R Electrical Services
Related Articles
We are pleased to announce that we have secured a portion of funding for eligible members of the Queensland construction industry.For more…Read more
Pinnacle are excited to announce that funding is available for certain courses for the 2018-19 period. This funding comes via Construction…Read more

Really good training, great environment and friendly staff - trainer and admin. I felt a lot more confident after the course and would take on the big task that I was not sure of at first. Jason, the trainer was very informative and had great experience in the field which was carried over in the classroom. Well done, I’m looking forward to my next course.

Terry H. - Brisbane, QLD

Apex Services SEQ

I started this course with no operating experience but by the end I am confident with my skill level to operate and gain more experience in the workplace. Warwick explained the theory and practical very well and he helped me achieve everything I wanted to with the course.

Nathan C. - Brisbane, QLD

Public Course Participant