No region selected

Confined Space Permit Issuer

Nationally recognised units of competency
MSMWHS201 - Conduct hazard analysis
MSMPER300 - Issue work permits

Face to Face

More advanced training for existing confined space operators in the areas of permit issuing and risk assessments.

Course Dates

Location (VIC) Start Date Places Left
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, May 28, 2024 (7:30am)
5 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Thu, May 30, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, May 31, 2024 (7:30am)
Sold Out
Add Me To Waitlist
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Jun 04, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Jun 07, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Wed, Jun 12, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, Jun 14, 2024 (7:30am)
Places Available
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Jun 14, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Jun 18, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Jun 21, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Jun 25, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Thu, Jun 27, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, Jun 28, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Jul 02, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Jul 05, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Jul 09, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Thu, Jul 11, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, Jul 12, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Jul 16, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Jul 19, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Jul 23, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Thu, Jul 25, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, Jul 26, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Jul 30, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Aug 02, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Aug 06, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, Aug 09, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Aug 13, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Aug 16, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Aug 20, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, Aug 23, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Aug 27, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Aug 30, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Sep 03, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, Sep 06, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Sep 10, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Sep 13, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Sep 17, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, Sep 20, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Sep 24, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Thu, Sep 26, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Oct 01, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, Oct 04, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Oct 08, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Oct 11, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Oct 15, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, Oct 18, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Oct 22, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Oct 25, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Oct 29, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, Nov 01, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Nov 08, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Nov 12, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Fri, Nov 15, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Braeside Fri, Nov 15, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Nov 19, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us
Melbourne - Port Melbourne Tue, Nov 26, 2024 (7:30am)
4 Places Left
Call Us

Course Details

Certification

Students who are deemed competent will receive a Statement of Attainment recognised under the Australian Qualifications Framework. This certification is nationally recognised. The Statement is issued by Pinnacle Safety and Training (RTO 40496).

National units of competency

  • MSMWHS217 - Gas test atmospheres
  • MSMWHS201 - Conduct hazard analysis
  • MSMPER300 - Issue work permits

Course Duration

1 day (allow a minimum of 8 hours)

Price

Course Overview

This is generally conducted as the second day of our ‘Confined Space Entry - 2 day’ course. It covers advanced confined space concepts and skills relating to roles and responsibilities of the team, hazards analayis, gas testing and issuing permits.

This course is for those who:

  • want a greater depth of knowledge of working in confined spaces
  • require a ‘gas test atmospheres’ certification in order to be able to operate a gas detector
  • may be required to issue confined space work permits
  • supervise other workers during confined space operations

To complete this course, we require that participants have a solid working experience in confined spaces and hold a confined space entry certification attained within the last two years, such as:

  • RIIWHS202E - Enter and work in confined spaces (or equivalent), OR
  • MSMPER205 - Enter confined space (or equivalent)

These qualifications can be attained on day 1 of our 2 day course. If you do not hold one of these certifications, you will be ineligible to attend and should instead complete the full 2 day course.

General Overview

This nationally recognised training course is designed for people who work in or around confined spaces. The course can be tailored to suit your company’s specific training requirements focusing on the safety procedures and practical scenarios relevant to your particular confined space operations. While there is a standard set of learning outcomes for the course, we understand that the context and environment in which the learning is applied is varied. It is designed to teach participants how to:

  • Identify and control confined space hazards
  • Review and assess a range of confined space permit applications
  • Issue entry permits for confined space operations
  • Undertake gas testing procedures and interpret readings
  • Monitor compliance with issued confined space permits
  • Address and report non-compliances with permit conditions

Trainees who need to be able to operate breathing apparatus, please see our Operate Breathing Apparatus course.

Trainees who need to be able to undertake confined space rescue, please see our Confined Space Rescue course.

Currency

Australian Standard AS2865 recommends refreshing confined space training every 12-24 months.

Course Outline

  • Identifying confined spaces
  • WHS legislation, Codes of Practice and Australia Standards relevant to confined spaces
  • Roles and responsibilities of management and employees
  • Workplace policy and procedures
  • Hazard identification, risk assessments, and hierarchy of hazard controls
  • Reviewing and assessing permit applications
  • Issuing confined space entry permits
  • Isolation procedures
  • Atmospheric monitoring and gas detection
  • Safety and emergency procedures
  • Practical entry into a confined space

Course Inclusions

  • Training conducted by an experienced confined space specialist with strong knowledge of relevant legislation and Australian Standards for working in confined spaces
  • Practical hands-on training
  • Recommendations and advice for specialised PPE and equipment for a particular workplace
  • Advice on risk control methods for the type of work to be undertaken.
  • This course can be conducted on-site or at one of our training facilities located in Brisbane, Gladstone, Sydney, Melbourne or Perth.

Mandatory Participant Requirements

​Participants must:

  • Have either:
    • completed Confined Space 1 day training with Pinnacle Safety and Training within the last two years, OR
    • have attained equivalent confined space entry certifications within the last two years
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Wear suitable attire (including long pants and closed-in shoes)
  • Provide own lunch and transport

In addition, participants must:

  • Have a sufficient level of reading, writing and numeracy and oral communication to undertake this training, including the ability to:
    • read and interpret documentation relevant to the confined space entry permits
    • write clearly in English to complete workplace forms
    • speak clearly and understand verbal communication in English
    • understand gas concentration measurements and interpret gas testing results
    • explain and respond to a range of workplace scenarios

Entry requirements:

We supply all equipment necessary for you to undertake this training, however we actively encourage you to bring along your own equipment.

The training was excellent - I learned a lot. The trainer encouraged participants to work at their own pace whenever possible, which was great (this is how I learn best).

Connie R. - South Fremantle, WA

Public Course Participant Certificate IV in Training and Assessment (TAE40116) - Upgrade Program